forward thoughts on a Myspace forward…

30 08 2007

myspace.gifLike many others I am a part of the popular networking site, Myspace. One of the popular things to do on the site, is to post bulletins which can be seen by those who are your friends. This is one of the bulletins that I came across. It’s headline read “I’m not racist, but it’s true.” It reads as follows (warning: very offensive language ahead):

You call me:
“redneck”
“Hillbilly”
“Slaker”
“Cracker”
“Honkey”
“Whitey”
“Gringo”
“Sage”
and you think it’s OK.

But when I call you:
jungle bunny
spear chunker
coon
wet back
jiggaboo
porch monkey
sand nigger
rag head
towelhead
Camel Jockey
Gook
Spook
NIGGER
KIKE
slant eyes
rice picker
border jumper
beaner
or Chink
you call me a racist.

–You have the United Negro College Fund.
–You have Martin Luther King Day.
–You have Black History Month.
–You have Cesar Chavez Day.
–You have Yom Hashoah
–You have Ma’uled Al-Nabi
–You have the NAACP.
–You have BET.

–If we had WET(white entertainment television) …we’d be racist.
–If we had a White Pride Day… you would call us racist.
–If we had white history month… we’d be racist.
–If we had an organization for only whites to “advance” our lives… we’d be racist.
–If we had a college fund that only gave white students scholarships…you know we’d be racist.
–In the Million Man March, you believed that you were marching for your race and rights. If we marched for our race and rights…you would call us racist.
–Did you know that some high school students decided to make a club for only the white students because the other ethnicities had them. they all got sent to court for being racist but the african-american, Latino, and Asia clubs were not even questioned.
–You are proud to be black, brown, yellow and orange, and you’re not afraid to announce it. But when we announce our white pride, you call us racists.

I am white.
and
I am proud.
But, you call me a racist.

Why is it that only whites can be racists?
Now watch, I’ll be racist for reposting this
So what? no-one will re-post this for fear of being called racist

if you agree w/ this than repost saying “I’m not RACIST but its true.”

Now I’m not going to lie, I’ve had many thoughts about this bulletin, ever since I’ve read it. My main concern was how many people had posted it, before I saw, and how many more re-posted after? I know just from the suite that I live in that, the voice of this bulletin, is shared with many. Now, it’s NEVER o.k. to call anyone outside of their given name. People learn this from early ages from their parents and teachers. But yet, a comfort zone has been established to where it has suddenly become o.k. and normal to call others outside of their names. I am of no exception to this. I am guilty of calling others names outside of their own as well as others calling me names outside of my own. However, when WE start to call each other names that degrade the race that others come from, WE become more sensitive, because then these are insults that don’t just affect us, but our families and ancestors as well. This can cause a world of hurt, anger, and pain. I feel that this will continue to be a problem until WE can rid of the comfort zone of calling each other outside of our given names. The other part of this bulletin that really got to me, was where the bulletin kept on repeating “you have….., you have…….” I’m pretty sure that Martin Luther King Jr. Day and Black History Month are holidays and festivities that “we” as a nation recognize because of great things that Martin Luther King Jr. and many others in the black community contributed to this nation. This country recognizes many days for the many great men and women that have served OUR country well. And WE celebrate many holidays that show exactly how many different and amazing cultures are represented here. From Christmas, to Christopher Columbus Day, to St. Patrick’s Day, to Kwanza, to Wright’s Brothers’ Day, OUR country is a pool of people from different backgrounds and places, but WE live in one country together to try to make ONE people. But this country has a long way to go. In order for this country to become a WE, WE need to put a stop to the you’s and I’s of one another. But once again, I am just one person, part of a big nation, with one voice, but I hope that maybe my one voice might make a small impact even just on one person.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

